Table Tennis Summer 2021 Finals

The finals of the Mount Gambier Table Tennis Summer 2021 season played out this week, with all grades producing a clear winner in relatively convincing fashion.

In the A-grade Mac’nToshes started overwhelming favourites against Go-Ghetiams, although without their star player Josh Jantosh who was a late withdrawal, they found themselves in deep trouble early. Sanith Ghetia gave Go-Ghetiams the perfect start with a comfortable win over Mac’nToshes player Graham Jantosh, before David Fox repeated the dose against Johnny McBain Sirinat Sweet then took care of Chandler Jantosh to give Go-Ghetiams a commanding 3-0 lead. Mac’n’Toshes substitute player Leigh Barry gave his team a kickstart with a gritty 5-game triumph over Bill-John Watson. This sparked a mini revival for Mac’n’Toshes as they went on to win 3 of the next four rubbers. The resistance was quickly snuffed out though, as Fox and Ghetia won their reverse singles to put the give Go-Ghetiams an unassailable advantage. Chandler Jantosh and Barry took out the final two singles rubbers of the night for Mac’nToshes but by that stage Go-Ghetiams were already celebrating claiming the trophy with an overall final score of 7 rubbers to 5.

The B-Grade decider proved to be somewhat of an anticlimactic affair, as favourites The Wolf Pack utterly dominated and outclassed their Turn It Up opponents from start to finish on the way to a 11-1 result. Mike Hosszu and Brian McPhee started strongly for The Wolf Pack with convincing wins over Kylie Boston and Luke Bremner respectively, before Tony Elletson pulled one back for Turn It Up with a closely fought win over Rowan Hardcastle. Elletson’s victory proved to be the one and only high point for Turn It Up, The Wolf Pack reeling off the remaining 9 rubbers to emphatically claim the title.

The C-Grade’s “Battle of The Balls” proved to be just as lopsided, the Snowballs extinguishing the Fireballs’ chances early on their way to an easy 9-3 victory. Campbell Fox and Chris Turner led the way with strong undefeated performances for the victors, whilst Tom Horrigan and Lorraine and Jacob Halleday tried their hardest to lift their team off the canvas. Horrigan and Fox played out and enthralling 5-game marathon, Horrigan charging to a 2-game lead before Fox wore him down, claiming the remaining 3 games and the rubber in a classic encounter. Horrigan would later play his second 5-game marathon of the night, this time taking the spoils in a dead rubber against Fireballs substitute player Tracey Rawlings, however by this stage the overall result was well and truly beyond doubt.

Congratulations to all winners, and to club president Andrew Schubert, David Harris-Jones and all the committee members for another highly competitive and fun Summer season. Registrations are now open for the Autumn season commencing on April 28th, 2021. People of all ages and abilities are encouraged to come and try out, for enquiries contact the club via email or via their Facebook page.

2-rubber winners:

  • A-Grade: Leigh Barry (Mac’n’Toshes), Sanith Ghetia, David Fox (Go-Ghetiams)
  • B-Grade: Aaron McPhee, Brian McPhee, Mike Hosszu (The Wolf Pack)
  • C-Grade: Chris Turner, Campbell Fox (Snowballs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *